The Regulatory Commission of Alaska consists of five commissioners appointed by the governor and confirmed by the legislature in joint session. Commissioners are appointed to six-year, staggered terms. The commission annually elects one of its members to serve as chair for the following fiscal year. The term as chair is one year. The chair may be elected to not more than three successive terms as chair. The commissioners and staff work full time at the Commission’s office in Anchorage.

Any communication with individual commissioners on material issues in matters pending before the commission may constitute a prohibited ex parte communication [3 AAC 48.020(g)]. If you wish to comment on the record on a pending matter, please do not contact individual commissioners but instead submit your comments to

NameTermEmail Address 
Robert A. Doyle, ChairMay 23, 2022 - March 1, 2028, Chair: Nov 17, 2023 - Jun 30, 2024bob.doyle@alaska.govBiography
John M. EspindolaJune 12, 2023 - March 1, 2025john.espindola@alaska.govBiography
Robert M. PickettMarch 7, 2008 - March 1, 2026 (Reappointed: 04/17/2014 and 03/01/2020)bob.pickett@alaska.govBiography
John C. SpringsteenJuly 1, 2024 - March 1, 2030john.springsteen@alaska.govBiography